The New Brunswick Student Alliance is governed by a Board of Directors made up of two student representatives from each of its five members who serve concurrent terms from May to following April. The Board elects two Officers, a Chair and a Vice-chair.

The current Board serves from May 1, 2017 to April 30, 2018.

Sara Camus, Chair
(Secondary Delegate MASU)

Sara Camus

Sara is a fifth year Bachelor of Arts student with a major in Fine Arts and a double minor in Psychology and Women & Gender Studies. She is the President of the Mount Allison Students’ Union and the Chair of the New Brunswick Student Alliance. Her platform consists of issues pertaining to international students, mental health, and accessibility on campus; many of these concerns are relevant on the other member campuses, so she hopes to address them at the provincial level. Sara loves dogs and has spent a portion of her undergraduate degree fostering retired racing greyhounds.

Brianna Workman, Vice Chair
(Secondary Delegate STUSU)

Version 3

Brianna is a third year student at St. Thomas University majoring in Communications and Public Policy and Political Science. She is originally from Kemptville, Ontario but she loves STU and calling Fredericton and New Brunswick, her home. This year, Brianna is STUSU’s Vice-President Education.

Brianna is extremely excited to work with the NBSA this year because she loves having the opportunity to work with other student leaders from across the province. This year, the NBSA Board of Directors is inheriting an organization that has had plenty of success over the last year. Brianna looks forward to another year of advocating for New Brunswick students on a variety of student issues and working towards another successful year for the NBSA.

Herbert Bempah
Primary Delegate UNBSU

Herbert Bempah

Originally from Ghana, West Africa, Herbert is a Business Administration student majoring in Human Resources Management and concentrating in Finance. This will be his fourth year at the University of New Brunswick and first year as President of the UNBSU.

Herbert has been involved on campus as Co-Chair for TEDxUNB, a residence proctor in Aitken and Joy Kidd House as well as the Treasurer for the African and Caribbean Society at UNB. As VP Internal for the Student Union, he successfully advocated for a Fall Reading Week for UNB students to stay mentally healthy, helped  implement a Wellness Week at the university and created the “Breaking Stereotype Project”  to combat bigotry and to debunk false stereotypes amongst marginalized groups, particularly international students at UNB. He hopes to contribute even more to the NBSA this year as Primary delegate for the UNB Student Union and is looking forward to an awesome year with the association. Herbert loves alternative RnB and Hip Hop music.

Danica Garner
Primary Delegate MASU

Danica Garner

Originally from Montreal, QC, Danica Garner is a fifth year student at Mount Allison University, completing both a Bachelor of Commerce and a Bachelor of Arts in Politics, Philosophy, and Economics. As Mount Allison’s current Vice President External Affairs, Danica feels that this is a very good position for her to fill as a person with a keen interest in politics and the political process. Especially with the traction that the NBSA has gained over the last couple of years, being a member of the NBSA will allow her to contribute toward making a real difference in the lives of current and potential post-secondary education students.

Issues that are important to Danica personally and as a Mount Allison representative are experiential learning, physical accessibility and mental health, all of which are concerns that MtA students have already been tackling on their own campus in many different ways. As an NBSA delegate, Danica is eager to further develop her understanding of New Brunswick’s political system and the role of lobby groups within it, while helping to improve post-secondary education in New Brunswick and at Mount Allison.

Kyle Rogers
Primary Delegate UNBSRC

Kyle Rogers

Kyle Jordan Rogers is originally from Saint John, New Brunswick and is the Vice President External of UNBSRC. Being both a first generation university student and a person who has grown up in poverty, the work that the NBSA has done for increasing the affordability and accessibility of postsecondary education has inspired him to continue on with this work and help future generations get an ever greater level of support for their postsecondary education!

Philippe Ferland
Primary Delegate STUSU

Phillipe Ferland

Philippe is STUSU’s president and very excited to serve on the NBSA Board of Directors this year. Born in Chilliwack, BC, he has lived all over Canada and the United states, but spent the last 7 years living in Oromocto. Having previously worked as STUSU’s Vice President Administration, Philippe has an understanding and focus on the internal forces acting and reacting within universities, students’ unions, and other organizations, offering an alternative perspective to the Board and advocacy in general.

With a passion for student issues just as large as his passions for cooking, and board games, Philippe can’t wait to  play the lobbying game and flambé up some solutions with the NBSA!

Jason Poirier
Primary Delegate CCDSA


Originally from Bathurst, NB, Jason has returned to New Brunswick to study Web and Graphic Design after living in Western Canada for 10 years. He studies Digital Media and is the incoming treasurer of the College of Craft and Design student association. He is excited to be a member of the Alliance and to collaborate with other student leaders so students can have a greater impact on their shared issues.

Jason’s top priorities are: reverse declining enrollment numbers, bring more awareness to programs which support mental health, and to provide accessibility to financial assistance for students. Currently we are creating community groups constantly seeking new opportunities to connect our students with local business in hopes of providing valuable on the job experience for students who choose to study in New Brunswick. Working together we can create a healthy ecosystem for our talented students and local industry to thrive.

Kenya Plut
Secondary Delegate UNBSRC

Kenya Plut

Kenya Plut is the President of the UNB Student Representative Council. Originally from Edmonton, Alberta, she now calls Saint John her home. Kenya is a Dean’s List student who will be graduating this spring with a Bachelor of Business Administration degree with a double major in HR and Marketing.

Kenya has been involved with various organizations around the campus and the surrounding community, including the Promise Partnership, Right to Play, and SwimAbility. She believes that the NBSA plays a vital part in providing accessible and affordable education in New Brunswick, and is very excited to work with an organization committed to such great causes.